The officers for 2019/20 are:

Leslie Skardon

Skardon specializes in strategic communications with a focus on corporate social responsibility and community relations.

Her interest in politics runs deep. She majored in international relations at Tufts University in Boston. She held a variety of policy and political internships in Washington D.C. She served former Senator Kay Hagan (D-N.C.) after the 2008 election and volunteered on her 2014 campaign.

Ronald Ladson
vice president

Ladson is a native of James Island. He spent 25 years in the military and majored in political science in college. He has been a high school football coach, youth mentor, community leader and member of “The Blazing” First Baptist Church of James Island.

He also has been involved in politics on the local level, having been a candidate for a seat on the James Island PSD Commission.

Pat Gaylor

Gaylor worked on Carol Jackson’s run for City Council from District 12, and also on Amy Brennan’s campaign to represent District Six on City Council.

She was a registered nurse for 43 years, spent 20 years in the USAF Nurse Corps and retired as a major.  More than half of her career was in health administration-type roles such as director of quality/risk management/patient safety.

Cyd Davis

Davis began her career as an actuarial trainee with a Fortune 500 company. She became an officer with 34 years of service with the same company in various actuarial, underwriting and financial positions.

She and her husband moved to Charleston from Chattanooga, Tenn., in 2016.

Eileen Dougherty
past president

Dougherty is the Charleston County female representative on the SCDP Executive Committee. She also is a founder and co-chair of the SCDP Healthcare Caucus.

She has an extensive background in policy and advocacy. She has managed programs, and lobbied and worked extensively with diverse groups to find solutions to complex fisheries issues.